Standard Committee

The Standard Committee (“SC”) exists to oversee development of the Non-GMO Project Standard. Revisions proposed by the SC are reviewed and voted upon by the Board of Directors, which holds final decision-making authority. The SC is responsible for addressing all comments received in recommendations made to the Board.

Structure: The SC is comprised of representatives from the following areas:

  • Voting members who reflect a balanced representation of interests, and who are each highly versed in the type of technical issues addressed in the Non-GMO Project Standard.
  • At least one voting representative who is well positioned to represent consumer advocacy and/or policy perspectives
  • One non-voting representative from each of the Project’s technical administrators.
  • One staff member of the Non-GMO Project.

Current SC Members Include:

Beth Unger, Organic Valley (Voting)
Chuck Benbrook, The Organic Center (Voting)
David Gould, IFOAM (Voting)
Tara Froemming, SK Food (Voting)

Jaclyn Bowen, NSF  (Non-voting)
Aaron Sanger, Non-GMO Project (Non-voting)
Jennifer Schomp, FoodChain ID (Non-voting)